Recent Release #83: Gemina & Everyone We’ve Been


 Gemina by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu

29236299Series: The Illuminae Files #2
Genre: YA, sci-fy, dystopia
Release date: October 18th 2016
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Length: 608 pages

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Little note: I know, shame on me for not having read the first book yet! But I think I will soon, because everyone is obsessed with these!

Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett

28503698Series: standalone
Genre: YA, contemporary, mystery
Release date: October 4th 2016
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Length: 400 pages

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Jenny Han comes a new novel that asks, can you possibly know the person you’re becoming if you don’t know the person you’ve been?

Addison Sullivan has been in an accident. In its aftermath, she has memory lapses and starts talking to a boy that no one else can see. It gets so bad that she’s worried she’s going crazy.

Addie takes drastic measures to fill in the blanks and visits a shadowy medical facility that promises to “help with your memory.” But at the clinic, Addie unwittingly discovers it is not her first visit. And when she presses, she finds out that she had certain memories erased. She had a boy erased.

But why? Who was that boy, and what happened that was too devastating to live with? And even if she gets the answers she’s looking for, will she ever be able to feel like a whole person again?

Little note: This sounds so mysterious and amazing! And I LOVE the cover!😮

Blog Tour: Useless Bay by M.J. Beaufrand (Giveway + Except incl.!)


Hi everyone! Today I’m proudly presenting you my blog tour stop about USELESS BAY by M.J. Beaufrand! Keep reading to find out more about the book itself, the amazing author, and excerpt and the giveaway! Happy reading😉

About the book

9781419721380.jpgTitle: USELESS BAY
Author: M.J. Beaufrand
Pub. Date: October 18, 2016
Publisher: Amulet Books
Pages: 240
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

A gritty, psychological thriller about a mythic set of sixteen-year-old quintuplets searching for a young boy.

On Whidbey Island, the Gray quintuplets are the stuff of legend. Pixie and her brothers have always been bigger and blonder than their neighbors, as if they were birthed from the island itself. Together, they serve as an unofficial search-and-rescue team for the island, saving tourists and locals alike from the forces of wind and sea. But, when a young boy goes missing, the mysteries start to pile up. While searching for him, they find his mother’s dead body instead—and realize that something sinister is in their midst. Edgar-nominated author M. J. Beaufrand has crafted another atmospheric thriller with a touch of magical realism that fans of mystery and true crime will devour.


Chapter 2 – Henry
“The ferry slump,” Meredith and I used to call it. Even though it wasn’t the ferry slumping—it was my father’s shoulders.If you keep up with your financial news, you know that Dad the bazillionaire venture capitalist is a decent guy. My sister and brother and I will have to work for a living, and the rest of his money he’s going to give away to make the world better.But he has a weakness. He likes fast cars. And he likes to drive them fast, even our beige Lexus SUV—a vehicle so huge it takes up two lanes on the freeway. And there’s the thing you probably don’t know about, which is that he likes to argue with law enforcement once he’s been pulled over.There are 31.2 miles between our house in Medina and the Whidbey Island ferry. I don’t know how much those thirty miles have cost us in terms of speeding tickets, since Dad refuses to look at bills (he has people for that), but they’re worth it, because once we paid the toll and maneuvered onto the ferry, Dad would release his grip on the wheel, roll down the window, and inhale a bouquet of salt air, fried fish, and bus exhaust. He would lean back in his leatherette chair and let his shoulders sag.

That smell was better than crack.

The Friday before Grant disappeared, we pulled into the holding lanes and parked behind a rusty pickup with a vanity plate that read dcption. Somewhere behind us was a car that had our “travel team”: Joyce, Dad’s admin, because God forbid he’d get an idea and have to jot it down himself; Hannah, our cook; and Edgar, our go-to guy. Yuri, our security dude, had gone ahead of us. Dad liked them to remain as invisible as possible. When he was at the beach, he wanted the illusion of it being just the family, the sand, and the easy come and go of the waves.

About the author

mjMary Jane grew up in Gresham, Oregon. She’s a graduate of Wellesley College and has an MFA from the Bennington Writing Program. Currently she lives in Seattle with her husband, two children, and dogs. In the eighties she had a bad perm.

Website |Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

Giveaway time!

3 lucky winners will receive a finished copy of USELESS BAY!  (US Only)

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I hope you enjoyed this post and will add it to your tbr! I’m already a BIG fan of the cover!! ♥

In collaboration with Rockstar Book Tours.

Current reads & TBR for October


October = HORROR MONTH! 🎃🕸👻 Or well… I’m going to try at least! I have already read a few, but I want more horror! I hope to find a bit more horror books during the month, because I have few for the moment. I’M SO EXCITED😀

What I already read this month

  • Famous Last Words by Katie Alender – ⭐⭐⭐⭐+0.5
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – ⭐⭐+0.5
  • The House by Christina Lauren – ⭐⭐⭐⭐

What I’m currently reading


Add me on Goodreads: @melissa-reads-books

Say Her Name

I haven’t read much already, but I’m already hooked! This was recommend to me by my best friend. She said I should try reading this in the dark with creepy music…😀 I guess I’ll see how it goes!


Same for this one, I haven’t read much yet, but I’m enjoying it! I’m putting it aside for a few days though because I want to get into my horror books for this month!😉 But who knows, maybe I’ll pick it up after I finish Say Her Name. Not sure yet!

The Son of Neptune

I started the audiobook while I as on summer vacation, but since I’ve been back… I haven’t continued… Which sucks. I wanted to finish this series before the end of the year, but I don’t think this will be happening. I was still enjoying this series a LOT, but these books are quite big to be honest… I hope I’ll be able to finish it soon!

Other books I want to read

What will you read this month? Let me know in the comments!❤

Recent Release #82: A Christmas book & a romance

Recent Release

Hear Me Now by Lisa de Jong

S26836998eries: standalone
Genre: NA, romance
Release date: October 10th 2016
Publisher: –
Length: –

If you’re reading this letter, I’m already gone.

He told me he was going to do it, and I didn’t believe him. I told him I would follow, but he left anyway.

Sometimes, you love someone so much that living without them isn’t an option. Ty Wise was that person for me.

Maybe this is selfish. Maybe I should’ve stayed away when he asked.

Maybe he should’ve listened to what I told him.Life is full of maybes.

Do you think he can hear me now?

Little note: Lisa’s book “When It Rains” has crushed me multiple times. I love her writing and I seriously cannot wait to dive into this one. The plot sounds so mysterious but with full emotions. I’m already scared for my heart!

What Light by Jay Asher

29093326Series: standalone
Genre: YA, contemporary, Christmas, romance
Release date: October 11th 2016
Publisher: Razorbill
Length: 256 pages

From Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why, comes a romance that will break your heart, but soon have you believing again. . . .

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other.

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

Little note: Yes, I know what you’re thinking … “CHRISTMAS?!” Shush, it’s never too early for Christmas😀

September Wrap up

Oh dear, I completely forgot to publish my wrap up! And I was even so happy about it because I took pretty pictures!😀 Well, better late than never! Here we go:

What I’ve read


  1. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson: ★★★★
  2. Morrighan by Mary E. Pearson: ★★★★
  3. The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson: ★★★★
  4. A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir: ★★★★

Okay, I haven’t read THAT much, but I’m still happy! I’ve wanted to read the Kiss of Deception series for such a long time and I’m so glad I enjoyed it! I wanted to read the third book too, but the paperback is coming out next year…😦 I don’t know yet, if I’m going to buy the ebook in the meantime…

Also, ATATN was amazing! But the ending was a big shock. I didn’t expected it and that’s why it’s only 4 stars and not 5… I cannot believe that the author dared to write that ending to be honest haha😀 Have you read it? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!!

What I’ve bought/received


  1. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (Fairyloot August)
  2. The Lost Hero, the graphic novel (gift)
  3. The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson
  4. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir
  5. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
  6. Shadow & Bones by Leigh Bardugo
  7. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter (Fairyloot September)

Only one comment: EMPIRE OF STORMS IS FINALLY ON MY SHELVESSSSSSSSS!!!!!! *happy dance* ♥

What have you bought and read during the month of September? Feel free to link your own wrap up in the comments!