Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

img_20160806_121014.jpg

My rating: ★★★★+0.5

S29056083eries: Harry Potter #8
Genre:
YA, fantasy, play
Release date: July 31st 2016
Length: 320 pages

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My thoughts

At first I didn’t want to buy this book, let alone read it. Only the though of knowing this was a play and not an actual book, annoyed me so much.
But… after the release, al my social media were colored yellow with the cover of this book.  I got way too curious and ended up buying it anyways.

I went into this book completely blind, with a lot of skepticism and fear. But I ended up loving it anyway! Much more than I ever would’ve thought!

Yes I admit, some of the characters were a bit off and deserved a bit more attention , but I don’t think that’s a reason for hating it. In many reviews, people are referring this book as a fanfiction. I’m not saying I disagree with this, but I’m not agree with it either. I don’t see HP and the Cursed Child as a real 8th book, because it’s a PLAY. And it will forever be a play until moment JK Rowling decides to write an actual book about it. People keep judging it as it’s all written by JK Rowling and that her characters don’t feel real. That’s normal, because it’s supposed to be SEEN. It’s a SCRIPT. The fact that we got this book is because not everyone would be able to see this play. It’s an extra.

Those thoughts aside, I really did enjoy it. It was so fun to rediscover the Harry Potter after all these year since the last book/movie. I didn’t realize how much I missed these characters. The story is magical and perfect in its own way. I have no regrets in buying or reading it! Once a Potterhead, always a Potterhead! ♥

Summary of my rating:

  • Cover:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Writing: N/A
  • Characters:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Plot: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Ending: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Overall book: ⭐⭐⭐⭐+0.5
Leave a Reply

