Review: Kingdom of Ashes by Rhiannon Thomas

Review

My rating: ★★★

Series: A Wicked Thing #2
Genre:
YA, retelling, fantasy, dragons
Release date: February 23rd 2016
Length: 368 pages

Asleep for a hundred years, awoken by a kiss. Aurora’s life was supposed to be a fairytale.

But since discovering that loyalty to the crown and loyalty to her country are two very different things, Aurora knows she can only dream of happily ever after. Once the enchanted princess, savior of her people, she is now branded a traitor.

Aurora is determined to free her home from the king’s tyrannical rule, even if it means traveling across the sea to the kingdom of the handsome and devious Prince Finnegan—someone who seems to know far more about her magic than he should. However, Finnegan’s kingdom has perils of its own, and any help he gives Aurora will come at a price.

As Aurora and Finnegan work together to harness her power—something so fiery and dangerous that is as likely to destroy those close to Aurora as it is to save them—she begins to unravel the mysteries surrounding the curse that was placed on her over a century before…and uncover the truth about the destiny she was always meant to fulfill.

Brimming with captivating fantasy and life-threatening danger, the sequel to A Wicked Thing takes Sleeping Beauty on an adventure unlike any she’s ever had before.

My thoughts

Kingdom Ashes is the final book in this duology and I hate to say it, but although it was very unsatisfying, I’m glad. This book was one of my most anticipated releases of 2016 and I’m so so soooooo disappointed! 😦 I’m going to try to keep this very short as I don’t like to ramble about things I didn’t like… Here I go…

Generally, I just had a lot of problems with the main character. And this is what mostly ruined the book for me. She had zero character development. She kept doing dangerous things and placing herself in (unneeded) danger without thinking about the consequences. Her general train of thoughts was mostly like: “Could it destroy the whole city or kill me? Yes… maybe… Hmmm, but I’m important and I think that’s a fantastic idea, so I’m definitely going to risk it, yay!” Geez, the amount of times I rolled my eyes is very high.

After ending A Wicked Thing, I was also super excited for the romance between Aurora and Finnegan. I was expecting a teasing and exciting romance between them and we got wasn’t even slightly satisfying. Aurora acted very young on the romance territory. She played with Finnegan’s feelings a lot while deciding if she even wanted him or not. I disliked this a lot! He’s a Prince for goodness sake! But he wasn’t the best either.. he just let her drag him around… *sighs*

The only thing I liked in this book was the history and the dragons! Because YES, this book has lots of dragons! I think that if the premise wasn’t ruined by Aurora, it would have been an epic book! I was always wanting to know more about them, their power, how they survived etc. They were so interesting!

As said earlier, this is the final book in this Sleeping Beauty retelling duology…. buuuut what the hell? I thought there would be a third book because the ending is so vague and open! The villain of this book is still ALIVE! Now, it’s like everyone is assuming that she won’t try to plan something bad again? Hellooo?? Ugh well. I’ll just shut up.

If you highly enjoyed the first book, I’d still recommend you try this one out! Maybe you’ll like it? I just think my own expectations were too high. The writing was still good and easy to go through, so there’s that. If the author worked more on her character development and plot (especially endings), she could be a highly appreciated YA author!

12328093_566405260202130_1582785464_n

Summary of my rating:

  • Cover:  ⭐⭐⭐+0.5
  • Writing: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Characters:  ⭐⭐
  • Plot: ⭐⭐
  • Ending: ⭐⭐
  • Overall book: ⭐⭐+0.5
5 thoughts on “Review: Kingdom of Ashes by Rhiannon Thomas

  1. Oh, no! I was really intrigued by the concept of A Wicked Thing (though I haven’t read it yet). I might not bother to pick it up now, because everything you mentioned would bother me to death–and I’d hate to read the first half of a duology and not read the second. Bah. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

