Review: “A Court of Mist and Fury” AKA “A Court of Feels”

Review

My rating: ★★★★★

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #226073150
Genre:
NEW ADULT, romance, fantasy
Release date: May 3rd 2016
Length: 624 pages (which is absolutely NOT enough)

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

My thoughts

*No spoilers, so you are save to read this review if you haven’t started or finished ACOMAF.

If you do not wish to read this big-ass review below, all my feels of this book can be described with this gif:

635719924212048571-1339394996_sully

If you DO wish to read all my thoughts, then GET READY ‘cause you’re in for a ride of emotions! 😀

First, I would like to point out my state of mind from when I finished ACOTAR. You can read my full review [here] if you wish. It hasn’t been a secret that I disliked Feyre so much in ACOTAR. She was moody, whiny, undecided about multiple things and people. Also, the amount of reckless decisions she made was insane. I just did not like her. Towards the end of book one, I started warming up to her, though. Mostly it was because she was basically left alone, and the fact that she was starting to use her brains again. Also Rhys gave the story a very interesting twist and I was dying to know more about him. So basically, Rhys saved not only Feyre, but also the ending of book for one for me.  I rated the book with 3.5 stars, but I actually enjoyed disliking things (if this makes sense). Again, more in detail in my ACOTAR review.

Anyway. NOW though… My mind is FREAKING BLOWN! My love for this series has increased with triple force. SJM once more proved she can manage to get me so into a series to the point I have to force myself to stop reading, otherwise I wouldn’t sleep until I finish the book. Her Throne of Glass series got me into this state (I’m still not over QoS!) and now again. I can now say with one hundred percent certainty that she is my all-time favorite author.

The writing is as usual splendid. The way she combines the fantasy aspects, the feelings and the plot twists is amazing. Everything is in perfect balance. There are fights, subtle and not-so-subtle (aka. H-O-T) swoon-worthy scenes, heart-breaking thoughts and very dark passages that give you chills everywhere.

When I first finished ACOTAR and saw that this book was 624 pages, I very skeptical. As there were some things that I didn’t enjoy in book one, I was scared that the 624 pages would intimate me or that I would struggle to finish. When ACOMAF finally got released though, it seemed that every bookish friend I had was reading and obsessing over this book. So much hype and I was terrified to start. I was planning to do a buddy-read with my best friend, so as my copy hadn’t arrived yet, I got myself an ebook and jumped into the madness everyone seemed to be in.

So on a second though: I’m actually SAD there are only 624 pages!!! I want NEED more! I started reading this book on a Sunday and when I had to get to work to following day, it was pure torture. I was reading everywhere and whenever I could. Halfway through the book, I was on the verge of calling in sick at work and stay home to read. IT IS THAT GOOD. I swear; if you enjoyed SJM’s books in the past, do not be intimidated by the hype around this book. It will satisfy your expectations in every way.

I have to admit that I had a mini “slump” almost at the end of the book, but it was mostly because I wasn’t ready for it to end. I just gathered my feels for a day or two before picking it up again. I’m so glad I did this by the way, because I enjoyed the ending much much more!

Her world building is beautifully done! It’s classy, rich, dark, colorful, harsh, breathtaking. I had absolutely no problem imagining scenery’s or characters. The wings, the magical powers, the creatures, the history … I couldn’t get enough. SJM’s imagination is the best kind ever. Everything is well-thought and fits with every tiny aspect. It’s just perfect.

Moving on… (’cause yes, I have much more to say!) I’ll first discuss the things I did not agree with and keep the best for later.Shall we? 😉

First let us start with freaking Tamlin. “Tamlin, who?” is probably the thing every Rhys-lover in the world is thinking right now. I wouldn’t be surprised if everyone of Tamlin’s team in ACOTAR switched to Rhys in this sequel, because he was a ROYAL FREAKING ASSHOLE. I already didn’t like him in book one, but now it’s official. He is way too possessive and hot tempered and clearly doesn’t understand the concept of seeing Feyre as an equal. He made me so frustrated. I’m sure his original intentions are good, but his way of treating Feyre just disturbed me too much. He just lost his mind. I never expected him to make such bad decisions. Just nope.

giphy

However, the character that disappointed me the most is Lucien. Come oooooon! I liked him so much in ACOTAR! But he just blindly sided with Tamlin through the whole book and I just expected much more from him. But it also wasn’t just him alone. It seemed that no one else in Spring Court actually cared about Feyre.  Lucien did maybe slightly, but I think he could have definitely done more efforts…

Which brings me to Feyre. Oh dear. I never thought I would say this, but I really like Feyre now. She changed so much since ACOTAR. She is trying to live with the consequences that previously happened and I really felt bad for her. The thoughts she had while being with Tamlin, her nightmares… it gave chills. She was slowly but surely crumbling apart and no one was there to help.

However Feyre put her shit together with a brilliant character development. (again, perfect writing of SJM!) She slowly healed to a fierce woman that learned how to defend herself and embrace her new future. I am so proud of her actually. Obviously, not everything went easy immediately, but that made her story/life/character even more realistic and I loved it. I just loved it so so much. But of course I cannot only credit Feyre herself for the progress she made. Rhysand made things easier for her too. Speaking of Rhys…

RHYS = BAE. Girls, I’m obsessed. I’m not even exaggerating. I have this image of him in my head and I think it just ruined all my possible (IRL) boyfriends (if there will be any haha). (Let us be clear, that Rowan is still my Number 1 :D) The outside world views Rhys as an evil and merciless person and maybe a part of him is like this, but it’s not without a good reason. Because deep down he’s so kind, caring and imperfectly perfect. He’s selfless and he should be granted way much more happy moments. I absolutely not imagined him to be like this. His ‘connection’ with Feyre made me giggle, swoon and hold my breath. I. AM. OBSESSED.

Put my new bestie (Feyre) and my new BAE (Rhys) together and you have SPARKS 😀 God, I love this ship so much. They both gave up so much to protect the people they love and care about, despite the fact they’re both struggling to keep it together. The bound they have together is strong, honest and flirty… and yeah, H-O-T too 😂 Let us all be clear that this is NOT a Young Adult book!! ‘Cause oh man. Rhys and his tongue/hands…………….. OH HELL PLEASE HELP ME

poof20ovaries20gone

I’m praising Rhys and Feyre so much, but let’s not forget our amazing side-characters. Cassiel, Mor and Aziel were such complex side characters with a huge past that I’d love to have small novellas about them. Nesta was also a very interesting character! I couldn’t relate to her at all. She was stubborn and just so frustrated all the time. I want to know why. Did something happen to her that we still don’t know about? Or is it just all hate? I’d love to know more about Lucien too… He didn’t appear much in the book, and as I really liked him in ACOTAR, I wanted more of him. I want to know his past, his thoughts, why he doesn’t defend himself when Tamlin was mean to him. Especially with the ending we got!

Because ladies and gentlemen, there’s no way you will expect this ending. It is BRILLIANT but also like OHMYGODWHATTHEFUCKISHAPPENING. I have million questions and I need the third book RIGHT NOW.

giphy1

So to summarize everything: this book is worth every second of your time. If you do not want to read this book because of a so-called love triangle. Don’t waste your time ignoring this book because there isn’t one at all. It’s brilliant in every aspect and I HIGHLY recommend it! It is the best book I’ve read this year so far. SJM’s books are one of a kind and they definitely deserve a spot on your shelves!

PS: There’s NO LOVE TRIANGLE. If you do not read this book because you think there is one. THERE ISN’T. Now go read the book, thanks 😉

13269511_1828181594076290_121103138_n

Summary of my rating:

  • Cover:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Writing: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Characters:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Plot: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Ending: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Overall book: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
10 thoughts on “Review: “A Court of Mist and Fury” AKA “A Court of Feels”

  1. Loved your review! I just finished ACOMAF the other day and haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. I just can’t function anymore. And loved the ““Tamlin, who?” is probably the thing every Rhys-lover in the world is thinking right now.” part in your review. I was like, YEA!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AAAAAAAAAAH; SPREAD THE LOVE. God, I’m still so in love with this book. ❤ & your review just made me feel everything again. I agree on everything (no surprise there) and I love how long this is. Haha, it's extraordinary really, how everywhere the reviews for ACOMAF are remarkably longer than reviews for other books. THERE IS JUST SO MUCH TO SAY. *Swoon* Great review!

    My review for ACOMAF (only if you're interested ;D) here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha,, funny review indeed – and all I can do is AGREE. Such a GORGEOUS book, even better than the first one and as you said there are quite HOT scences, which I actually did not expect, not to this extend. And I also must admit that I am one of those … forget Tamlin … LOVE Rhysand … persons. It is great to see how Sarah J Maas did this turn (I really did not expect it) … she is THE writing and story queen … Not sure how to survive till volume 3 is being published .. IN AGES TIME … argh!!

    Cheers
    Kati

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My top 5 of best books of 2016 (so far) | In A Bookish World

  5. Pingback: Part Two: My top 10 [fantasy] | In A Bookish World

Leave a Reply

