Review: Memento & De Man Van Nu

This is a slightly different review than usual. The reason of this is because it’s about two Dutch graphic novels. I’ve received both copies from Ballon Media, a Belgian (and Dutch) publisher. I’ll be reviewing both in one posts, so if you can read/speak Dutch, make you go check them out!

img_20160529_170705.jpg


De Man Van Nu” by Hanco Kolk & Kim Duchateau

The first graphic novel I’m going talk about is De Man Van Nu (“The Man of Now”). This is a very modern graphic novel set in two different time dimensions. It’s about a very unusual love story (slightly based on Romeo & Juliet). Rafael fell in love with Sylvia but as he’s in a quicker dimensional time than her, he cannot see her move and cannot touch her otherwise they both die. But it’s enough to be around her for him… just until the moment everything goes wrong. Sylvia is in danger and he decides he’ll do anything to save her.

To be honest, it was not what I expected. The two dimensional time world is very creative and I don’t think I’ve seen this in the bookish world before. It’s very unique and intriguing.  But the fact that this was a graphic novel made it a little weak. Don’t get me wrong, the artwork is gorgeous!! But as we didn’t get any other background information, it was sometimes hard to relate and confusing. I would’ve loved to have more of Sylvia’s point of view too. I think that if the author would have the opportunity to turn this into a full novel, he should definitely try it because he already has an amazing premise!

  • Cover:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Plot: ⭐⭐⭐
  • Artwork:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Ending: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Overall book: ⭐⭐⭐+0.5

Memento by Mathieu Reynès

The second graphic novel I received is Memento. Memento is the first book in the Harmony series. If I have to categorize this book I would add it on my fantasy & what-the-hell-is-happening shelves! I loved this one so much! As it’s the first book everything is still very new and mysterious.

Our main character wakes up alone and very weak in a basement. She doesn’t know how she got there and she doesn’t remember anything. Someone comes to her in the basement and acts all kind and seemed worried about her. He gives her food and the opportunity to wash herself up and wear clean clothes. And yet, he doesn’t tell her anything, locks her up and gives her these weird pills to swallow. She starts to remember a small thing and then the most impossible things happen… Who is she really? Why can she do certain stuff?

dsc_0481.jpg

Not only the plot of the book was awesome but it has also gorgeous and full colored artwork. I loved it so much. It’s gorgeous!  The only negative thing I can say is: IT’S TOO SHORT! 😦 I want more and more! The ending was WOW! I’ve been left with a million questions and a burning desire to reread it immediately!

I saw on the back that there are two more issues to be released though, so I’m super excited about these! They’re called Indigo & Ago. So definitely pick this one up if you love comics/graphic novels with a fantasy-twist!

  • Cover:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Plot: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Artwork:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Ending: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Overall book: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Again, thank you so much to Ballon Media for providing me these review copies!

ballon_media_logo2010

2 thoughts on “Review: Memento & De Man Van Nu

Leave a Reply

