Book Fair haul

I went to the book fair (“Boekenfestijn“) in Antwerp on Thursday and I got some great books! This ‘fair’ is like a huge book sale. And if I’m lucky and the English section is pretty good, then it’s BOOK HEAVEN. Also, all the books are pretty cheap (2 – 5€). For the 5 books that bought I paid 20 EUR which is super cheap considering there’s even a hardcover included! The English section was fantastic but I’m still very happy with this mini-haul!

The Falconer by Elizabeth MayThis is a YA historical fantasy book. I’m usually not a fan of historical books, but this one immediately gripped my attention with its stunning cover! Then I noticed there was a praise of Sarah J. Maas on the front cover AND from Jennifer L. Armentrout on the back cover! Two of my favorite authors! So yeah, obviously I couldn’t leave this book. I’m also getting a lot of Throne of Glass/ACOTAR vibes from this book and I’m so excited!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor I’m sure many of you already know this book! Again, the cover got my attention and then I realized I knew this book. Tbh, I never read this one because of the other ugly cover with a mess of plumes 😀 This is also a YA supernatural/fantasy book that seem to get a lot of hype! I don’t know much about it, but I think it’s the perfect book to dive into blind!

Splintered by A.G. HowardSplintered is one of those books that I have seen multiple times on bookstagram but never took the time to actually look up on Goodreads. When I saw this, I was curious so I decided to pick it up. The moment I realized it was an Alice in Wonderland (sort of) retelling, I immediately put in my basket 😀 I disliked the original story of Lewis Caroll so much, but I LOVE retellings of it! Is anyone one else feeling like this too? 😀

Ashes by Ilsa J. BickAgain, this isn’t really a book in my usual genre. Ashes is a YA horror book, which will be perfect for my Horror 2016 challenge! I haven’t read ANY horror book this year, so I feel like this will be a good start. Many of my Goodreads friends enjoyed this book too, which is always a good sign 😉

Burial Rites by Hannah KentThat cover ugh! ❤ Again a historical book! Again not my genre, but I was so intrigued by this book! Like with Ashes, a lot of my Goodreads friend said this book is amazing, captivating and beautiful. I have NO idea what to expect!

Overall, I’m very happy with these five! The majority of these aren’t the usual genre that I read, but that’s good! I need to step out of my comfort zone a bit more, because I’m like 99% sure I’ll enjoy the historical books a lot! I’m the most excited about The Falconer though, and I REALLY hope my expectations aren’t too high!

Besides these five books I also got a coloring book by the way! If you follow me on IG or twitter you probably already seen a lot of it, because I’m OBSESSED. The coloring book I bought is with mandala’s, which are sooooo pretty! I’ve already finished one completely and I’m halfway through another!

Tell me! Have you read any of these books? If yes, let me know in the comments because I can’t seem to decide which one to read first 😀

Also, do you love coloring books? Do you own some bookish ones? I’m super excited for the of Throne of Glass to be released!

6 thoughts on “Book Fair haul

  1. I’m glad you found some great books.. It’s always a bit of a gamble because sometimes they have lots of English books and other times not that much. Last time in Mechelen I also came home with 6 books ;-). I saw the coloring books too but I don’t have the patience anymore ;-). I loved it as a kid though..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

