Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Review

My rating: ★★★+0.5

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #116096824
Genre:
YA/NA, fantasy, retelling, romance
Release date: May 5th 2015
Length: 416 pages

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My thoughts

You might – or not – know that I am obsessed with the Throne of Glass series. Queen of Shadows is my favorite book in 2015 and probably also my favorite fantasy book of all times. SJM is an incredible author that is able to combine a badass plot and a swoon-worthy romance. #ROWANISLIFE

When picking up ACOTAR though, I might have had a bit too much and too high expectations. I have read this one or two weeks ago and as I’m writing this review, I am still not sure if I fully enjoyed this book or not.

The writing: Obviously, whatever SJM writes is good to me. She has a way of writing books that always surprises me. Even when there are passages that don’t particularly interest me that much, I still enjoy her writing. Seriously, she could write books of 600+ pages or grocery lists of less than 5 words and I would still devour it. That’s power, you guys. #QUEEN

The world building: SJM creates unique, traditional and yet fancy worlds. I’ve been following SJM inspiration/fanart board (here’s mine) and just seeing those simple pictures proves that SJM creates and writes wonderful worlds. The different courts, the buildings, the clothes, the creatures, the magic… everything is so unique and classy. She has such rich imagination that you just can’t help liking. (However, I wished we would have found out more about the Courts gradually, instead of being told everything in a monologue…).

Lucien: Oh dear, oh dear… I hated that he was so selfless. I wanted more for him, because so far he’s my favorite character in this series. I loved it when Feyre spend her time with him and I’m also very glad we got to know a bit of his history near the end of the book. But I still want more! I NEED MORE.

Rhysand: Badass mystery guy? Eh, yes please?! To be honest, the thing that motivated me most to pick up this book last month was Rhys. I was so curious to meet him! Yvonne (x) seemed to love him and I wanted to know why! Sadly, he was mostly present during the ending, but I feel like he pretty much saved this book for me anyway. I bet the sequel will be a lot more about him!

Feyre: *shakes head* I don’t even know here to begin… Ugh, I’m sorry, but Feyre annoyed me to death. Her character ‘development’ went in all directions. First she hates the High Fae, then she pities them, then she kind of likes them again and then she goes back to hating them? It’s like she couldn’t decide what she felt for them. It bugged me so much! Also, the amount of stupid decisions she took was ridiculous. She’s been caring for her family so long, and yet she kept doing reckless and stupid things while she actually knows it could harm or kill her.. where the hell was her logic?! Just… Ughhhhhhhh.

Tamlin: *sighs* Tamlin was also a very difficult character to understand. One moment he’s nice and then he acts like a real d***.  I didn’t feel the slightest connection with him… He was so possessive and uncaring at the same time. To be honest, at first I didn’t want him with Feyre, because I wanted her with Lucien. But as I didn’t end up liking Feyre either, they actually fit quite well together 😀

The ending: While the pace of the book in general was very slow, the last 150ish pages were packed with action and new information! And that’s what makes it so tricky for me… The book got 100% more interesting though, because the fantasy aspects became more present in the plot. We discovered more of the world, the history of it and the side-characters. It even became slightly addictive because I desperately wanted to know what would happen. But I didn’t liked how it ended. When I finished it, I immediately thought “wait, that’s it?”. I expected much more. Something a bit more epic and more complex. Even the riddle that was supposed to be so difficult was super easy. I knew the answer immediately and it frustrated me that Feyre couldn’t figure it out.

Overall: Anyway, I guess in some way I enjoyed that I disliked some things about this book.  Obviously we can’t always like everything, even if it’s written by one of your favorite authors. The occasional challenge that it brings is fun! So, despite all the negative things I’ve mentioned above, I didn’t hate the book. I will definitely continue reading this series (need more of Lucien and Rhys!!), and who knows? Maybe I’ll be completely obsessed with A Court of Mist and Fury!

img_20160229_181953.jpg

Summary of my rating:

  • Cover:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Writing: ⭐⭐⭐⭐+0.5
  • Characters:  ⭐⭐⭐+0.5
  • Plot: ⭐⭐⭐+0.5
  • Ending: ⭐⭐⭐+0.5
  • Overall book: ⭐⭐⭐+0.5
11 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. “Even the riddle that was supposed to be so difficult was super easy. I knew the answer immediately and it frustrated me that Feyre couldn’t figure it out.”

    YES. I actually dropped the book, hunted my husband down, and ranted to him at length about how incredibly dumb Feyre was for having so much difficulty with such a poorly-chosen riddle. It’s AWFUL. *Dies.* I’m relieved to see someone else was upset by this, too.

    Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked the book a lot, but I agree on a lot of things. Feyre being stupid and not being able to make up her mind for instance. That bothered me a lot. And I really didn’t like Tamlin all that much either. I think I almost vomited at that lake scene MY GOD THAT WAS AWFUL. But I really loved the world and the writing and Rhys and Lucien and overall I really enjoyed it despite the stuff I didn’t like. And that’s how it went with Throne Of Glass for me. The first book wasn’t all that good in my opinion, but the series kept getting better and it is so brilliant now. So, I’m REALLY excited for A Court Of Mist And Fury!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m really glad I read this first and then ToG. I don’t know if I would’ve liked it as much if I had read it in the reverse order. I 100% agree about the pace of the book! It drove me insane.

    I’m on the fence about Feyre as well (and totally figured out the riddle right away too. Seeing as it’s a beauty and the beast rebelling, the answer was obvious). I’m planning on rereading this at the end of the month to prep for ACOMAF’s release. It’ll be interesting to see if my thoughts change at all.

    Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you like my review and agree! And I think I would’ve enjoyed it more if I had read Acotar before the ToG series! But oh well, it wasn’t bad 😀 slightly worried about the pace of the sequel though… Cause it’s over 600 pages I think…. 😱

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hopefully it’ll play out like the ToG series did where each book increases in pace and action. I’m super excited about it though because it sounds like we’ll be seeing a lot more of Rhys, and he was probably my favorite character. Plus I kinda sorta totally ship him with Feyre and the end of the book gave me high hopes for them, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Blog Awards | The Blogger’s Story Award – Bookshelves & Biros

  5. Omg I feel terrible because I remember reading your review BUT I FORGOT TO COMMENT! Good thing I doubted myself and went back to check.

    AGREED WITH SO MANY THINGS. Particularly what you said about the ending – it frustrated me that she didn’t know the answer to the riddle too. IT WAS SO OBVIOUS. D: I still think that solving the riddle proved nothing… other than the fact that Feyre is horrible at riddles, haha. And I LOVED Lucien! I wanted more of him – I hope we see more of him in the sequel. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag | In A Bookish World

  7. Pingback: Review: “A Court of Mist and Fury” AKA “A Court of Feels” | In A Bookish World

Leave a Reply

