Sneak Peek Review: The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

Review

My rating: ★★★★

Series: La15993203dy Helen #1
Genre:
YA, fantasy, historical fiction
Release date: January 26th 2016
Length: 482 pages

New York Times bestseller Alison Goodman’s eagerly awaited new project: a Regency adventure starring a stylish and intrepid demon-hunter!

London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

My thoughts

*I have received a Sneak Peek from Netgalley to read in exchange of an honest feedback.*

WOW. Okay. I have to rethink about the genres I’m into because usually whenever I see ‘historical fiction’ in the list of genres, I’m like ‘god, please, NO”. I will have to reevaluate this opinion, because this sneak peek is amazing.

The world building is brilliant and so interesting. The main character Helen is (in a way I don’t even understand yet) very relatable and so far I like her. She seems to want to fit in, yet she does not want to be changed completely to please everyone. The time period is so interesting and I don’t get why I’ve never read books like this before? It’s so interesting!

As it was such a short preview (two or three chapters I believe), I cannot fully judge on the story line. The writing is very pleasant though. And from what I’ve read, it seems that this book will be filled with twist and turns. I’m seriously dying to pick up the full book!!

img_20160330_193539.jpg

Summary of rating:

Cover: 5/5
Writing: 4,5/5
Characters: 4/5
Plot: 4/5
Ending: N/A
Overall: 4/5

3 thoughts on “Sneak Peek Review: The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

Leave a Reply

