Review: The Wicked + The Divine, Vol 1-3

Review

My rating: ★★(★)

Series: The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 to 3 (issue 1 to 17)
Genre:
Adult, graphic novel, urban fantasy

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

My thoughts

Volume 1 – The Faust: ★★★★

I’ve been wanting to read this for so long, but for some reason I always hesitated. I didn’t even wanted to add it to my tbr until now.

The artwork is brilliant and definitely my favorite! So gorgeous and colorful.
Lucifer was my fav though! She looked so fierce and badass. At some point I just stopped reading and started at the art for a few moments. Just gorgeous!

The premise of this series is super cool. But I admit, it has a slow start and at first it’s really confusing with all the names of the Gods (I have a horrible memory for names!)

The pace was a bit too slow for my taste though, so I was thinking about quitting the series after finishing the last issue in this volume. But then that damn cliffhanger happened and now I want more!! So as the last issue in this volume piqued my curiosity again, I decided I’ll continue reading this series. I hope the storyline will get stronger though!

Volume 2 – Fandemonium: ★★★

WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT ENDING??!!!

Like with Vol 1, the ending subdued my lack of interest in the “general” plot line.
I still think there are way too many characters and names. Sometimes I still feel a bit confused about it… In comparison to the first volume, way too much happens. It has too much ups and downs and I don’t know if it’s the intention of the author, but it confuses me.

But as I said, the ending was one big “WTF”, so of course I’ll keep reading…

Volume 3 – Commercial Suicide: ★★

*I received an ARC through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Oh dear, this is very disappointing. The plot line of volume 1 and 2 wasn’t very strong, but it was always saved by an epic ending. This volume? One big nope. As we don’t have anything from Laura anymore and basically all the characters I liked are dead, my interest in the other characters vanished completely. I have decided to stop reading this series…

One thought on “Review: The Wicked + The Divine, Vol 1-3

  1. Pingback: March wrap up: Did someone say graphic novel?! | In A Bookish World

Leave a Reply

