Review: Alice In Wonderland (audiobook)

Review

My rating: ★★+0.5

Series: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland #1)
Genre:
YA, classic, literature
Release date: July 1865 (audiobook: February 2016)
Length: /

Golden Globe nominee Scarlett Johansson (Lost in Translation, Girl with a Pearl Earring) brings a palpable sense of joy and exuberance to her performance of Lewis Carroll’s enduring classic Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. From the White Rabbit and Mad Hatter to the Cheshire Cat and Queen of Hearts, she imbues each madcap character with a distinct voice and personality that will leave a lasting impression long after the adventure is over.

One hundred and fifty years after its original publication, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland remains one of the most widely read, deconstructed, referenced, and reinterpreted works of Western fiction. It tells the story of the young and imaginative Alice, who grows weary of her storybook, one “without pictures or conversations”, and follows a hasty hare underground – to come face to face with a host of strange and fantastic characters.

maxresdefault

My thoughts

Since I’ve read The Collectors Society by Heather Lyons, I’ve been dying to read the original story of Alice in Wonderland. I had never read the book before, only watched the original movie. And oh man, I am so disappointed. This is definitely a rare case where the movie is so much better than the book…

I just couldn’t get into it. Like not at all. The voice of Alice is so not like I imagined it to be. She sounded too immature and too grown up at the same time. I… yeah… I’m just so disappointed about the fact that I didn’t liked it. I sincerely expected to adore this original classic.
To be honest, the only reason why I finished this audiobook is because of Scarlett Johansson. She’s amazing!!!

So I have two suggestions for you:

  1. If you read this book and loved it: listen to this audiobook by Scarlett, I’m sure you’ll adore it!
  2. If you’re like me and didn’t enjoy this book as much as you thought you would: read The Collector’s Society by Heather Lyons. You won’t be disappointed!

img_20160328_220112.jpg

Summary of my rating:

Cover: 5/5
Writing: 1/5
Characters: 2/5
Plot: 2/5
Performance narrator: 4/5
Overall book: 2.5/5

4 thoughts on “Review: Alice In Wonderland (audiobook)

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like it. I did. I mean, it’s completely different from every other book I usually read, but as a classic I think it delivered. Although, it is kind of huge that this book became so legendary – because even though I liked it, I still don’t think it’s ‘mind-blowing’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March wrap up: Did someone say graphic novel?! | In A Bookish World

  3. I love the fact that Scarlett Johansson narrated the audiobook! But you’re right, I love the story of Wonderland, but just can’t get into the original story. It’s too.. weird hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

