Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Review

My rating: ★★★★

Series: Penryn and the End of Days #111500217
Genre:
YA, fantasy, angels, dystopia
Release date: August 28th 2012
Length: 288 pages

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back. Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

12479270_514008142115501_77548571_n

My thoughts

When your best friends keeps bugging you because you still haven’t read that one book, although she tells you it is awesome…. Just listen to her. There’s a 99% chance she’s right and you are just being dumb. I’m telling you; just trust me on this one. *Smiles broadly for Yvonne* 😀

Angelfall is not what I expected it to be. My expectations for were unreasonable low. I should have picked it up way much earlier especially after reading all the positive reactions on Goodreads and Instagram.

To be honest, I’ve never read a book with angels before, so for me the whole concept of angels invading Earth was pretty original, interesting and fun to read.  Although not much is being explained (for example, how everything went down exactly, or how Penryn ended up where she was etc…), there’s quite a lot of action so that it doesn’t really matter. It’s captivating from page one and it leaves you a bit addicted at the last page. But despite feeling a bit addicted when finishing the book, I also felt a bit unsatisfied. The ending was less “majestic” than I thought it would be. But luckily for me, there’s still book two and three to read, so I’m still hopeful.

Penryn is quite a special character. To be honest, I’m not sure if I like her. She has a weird past because of her mom and sister and that hold me back of connecting with her. I did not feel anything particular towards her and I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing.

Raffe is the most interesting character of the whole book, I believe. Although I do not like his “nickname” (if that’s what you can call it) “Raffe”, I was still very intrigued by him. He’s mysterious and does not talk or show his feelings much. At first I wasn’t so sure about him, but after a few eye rolls and chuckles, I had to admit he was kind of cute.

The other characters though? A lot of mixed feelings. Maybe it’s because I don’t know enough yet, but for example, I didn’t like her mom much. Or well, it’s more that I didn’t get her. I don’t know, she made me feel so weird! If that was the goal of the author, then good job! If not, well…. 😀 I also had the same feeling about her sister.

As I previously said, I expected more of the ending. I won’t go into the details though, to avoid spoilers. There was a big plot twist that I didn’t feel coming, but even despite that I  wanted more. Also, for some reason I thought it would end with a cliffhanger? Maybe I’m confusing it with another book, though! Anyway, even with the little minor and negative things, I still enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it! Not sure if I’ll read the other two books immediately, but I will soon for sure 🙂

12677581_949961165096743_1384534459_n

Posted on my Instagram @melissa_reads

Summary of my rating:

  • Cover: 4,5/5
  • Writing: 4/5
  • Characters: 3.5/5
  • Plot: 4/5
  • Ending: 4/5
  • Overall book: 4/5
5 thoughts on “Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. Pingback: Sub-ratings for my reviews | In A Bookish World

  2. Pingback: February wrap up | In A Bookish World

Leave a Reply

