Eat It #3: Banana cake

“Eat It” is a feature I created. I love baking but cooking I don’t want to waste my precious reading time messing up everything in the kitchen, I like to do simple but delicious treats I can devour while reading. So why not share my inventions with you guys? Read my previous recipes here.

Banana, nuts and chocolate. Doesn’t this sounds awesome?! Bananas are one of my favorite fruits so I love using them whenever I can. Last weekend I was craving for something sweet and saw a few ripe bananas in the kitchen. I just knew I had to make something with them! And boy, it was delicious!

Here’s what you need:

  •  1 large egg
  • ½ cup light brown sugar (= 100 gr)
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar (= 50 gr)
  • ½ cup butter (= 250 gr)
  • ¼ cup (Greek) yogurt (= 60 gr)
  • 2 tsps vanilla extract
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (= 140 g)*
  • ½ tsp baking soda*
  • ½ tsp baking powder*
  • pinch of salt
  • handful of hazelnuts
  • chocolate chips

*Tip: instead of using all-purpose flour, baking soda and baking powder, you can use 1 cup of self-rising flour instead. Works perfectly too!

What to do?

Mix all the ingredients except the nuts and chocolate chips with a hand mixer until smooth and fluffy. Then add the nuts and chocolate chips and stir them in the batter gently until you get this delicious cake batter:

img_20160122_211348.jpg

EXTRA TIP: God, I’m such a weirdo and this will probably sound so weird, but I really recommend that you stick your finger in that batter and taste it! 😀 I almost didn’t cook my cake, because raw like that was so delicious haha 😀

Pour the cake in a buttered 9x5inch pan (22×15 cm) and bake the cake for about 50 minutes on 350°F/180°C. Baking times may vary, so definitely keep an eye on it! Let the cake completely cool and then…

 …enjoy with a good cup of tea!

[Source of inspiration]

 

 

One thought on “Eat It #3: Banana cake

Leave a Reply

