Review: Doing it for Love by Cassie Mae

Review

My rating: ★★★+0.5

24683239Series: All About Love #1
Genre:
NA, romance, contemporary
Release date:  September 29th 2015
Length: 282 pages

Cassie Mae’s charming, sexy new novel, perfect for fans of Emma Chase, puts a steamy twist on modern love as one bride-to-be tries to put the spark back in the bedroom—by any means necessary.

Elizabeth Fanning’s life looks pretty perfect, judging by the diamond ring on her finger. Her fiancé, Landon, is sweet, handsome, and hilarious. The trouble is, before they’ve even tied the knot, their sex life has gone from mind-blowing to “meh”—and Liz isn’t ready to be part of an old married couple. After a cathartic call to her best friend, Liz comes up with a brilliant idea. She and Landon may never be able to re-create the magic of their first time, but how amazing would their wedding night be if everything below the neck was off-limits until then?

Liz thinks it’ll bring them closer together. Landon’s convinced she’ll cave first. So they raise the stakes: Whoever lasts longer gets to pick their honeymoon destination. With her heart set on the Bahamas and Landon fighting for snowbound Utah, Liz simply has to win. But pretty soon, her body is screaming for attention, and Landon’s never seemed so far away. Has Liz’s experiment backfired? Losing their little competition would be frustrating—but the one thing she can’t afford to lose is him.

My thoughts

*ARC received through Netgally/LoveSwept in exchange for an honest review.

Usually, when I read a romance, the two characters meet and fall in love. If was fun for once to read a book where they are already in a steady relationship.  They already have a history together and they want to get married. But Lizzie is not satisfied with their sexual life. She wants more and she’s scared that because of the marriage they’re going to be a boring couple. She wants the “strawberries and whipped cream” relationship.

Their wedding is in a few months so they settle a deal. No sex until the big day. The first one that breaks loses the deal and the other can pick the honeymoon destination. So they start and they get very sexually frustrated.

At first, it was fun and sexy. Lizzie is a hilarious girl. I liked her a lot and she has such a good bound with Landon. But then I don’t know. It started to be a bit too much.  To much of “trying to be sexy”.  Too much of “forced romance”. The pace of the book was sometimes too slow, then it was too quick. I basically have lots of mixed feelings about this book. It sometimes felt like the author didn’t know what she exactly wanted. Such a shame, because I know Cassie is a good author. I loved her book The Real Thing (which I also reviewed) and I think that’s why I had high expectations for this book.

But in the end – even despite the mixed feelings – I have to admit that the book was still good. It’s very realistic and I appreciated that a lot. Would I say that this is a MUST read? No, but I would still recommend it. It’s a quick and still lovely read!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s