My dream literary collection

A while ago, I’ve been contacted by the awesome Ryan of Invaluable. At Invaluable they have an extremely large collection of must-have collectible books up for auction.. They are currently doing a little project where they are looking for book bloggers who want to share what their dream literary collection might look like.  So here I am.

Since I received the request, a million books popped into my head. I’ve finally settled on couple to share with you. I tried to keep this post short, because honestly, my dream literary collection is endless.


First, as a hardcore Potterhead, I would love to have first editions of all the Harry Potter books! The new covers are gorgeous, but for some reason I love how the old copies of Harry Potter look like. Especially Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone! I would give anything to own them!

A few years back, this gorgeous first edition has been auctioned and sold for $40,326 at Christie’s auction house!

As second book, I would love to have that particular edition of Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll. A gorgeous red hardcover edition, published by Everyman’s Library Children’s Classics in 1992. The picture here below is actually mine. I saw this edition at the Borough Market in London. And I regret not buying this book so much! I curse myself every time I think about that moment. Ugh!

I would also love to have  copy of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak published by The Bodley Head in 2007. I’ve recently seen the movie for the first time. I cried my eyes out and loved it so so sooooooo much. Since then, I’ve been dying to read this book. My best friend challenged me to read this book this year, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon! Too bad this edition costs a small fortune!

The fourth book is actually a little collection of books. As a kid, Winnie The Pooh was my absolute favorite! I could watch it day and night. Sadly, I never actually had to chance to read a Pooh story. Even as a kid, I only watched the show on TV. That’s why I’d love to have this on my shelves. I would be happy with all editions, but after doing a little research I found this gorgeous collection from 1924-1928, published by Methuen & Co. The collection contains four volumes: “When We were very young”, “Winnie the Pooh”, “Now We are Six”, “The House at Pooh Corner” (written by A. A. Milne and illustrated by E. H. Shepard). Getting my hands on this set is probably impossible, but a girl (no matter how old) can dream right?

The fifth book and last book is actually a book that’s quite close to my heart. I do own this book and it’s pretty banged up, but it makes me love it even more! It’s Disney’s Het Groot Woordenboek (translation: The Big Dictionary). It’s an edition of 1971-1973, published by Arnoldo Mondadori Editore. This book used to be from my dad, he received it for his 11th birthday from his godfather. It’s a large book with drawings, each explaining what it is. It’s awesome. My dad used to use this book and make up stories out of the blue. Usually it didn’t make sense at all, but it didn’t matter. Every night, instead of feeling sleepy after a story, we (my brother and I) were wide awake and inventing things along the way to make my dad’s story even weirder. So much memories!


Lovely readers, if you read until here, thank you! I loved working on this post and I hope you liked it too. Please comment if there’s a particular book you would like in your dream literary collection.

Again, much thanks to Ryan for asking me for this post! You’re such an awesome and lovely person to talk to. I know you’ve been waiting a terribly long time for this and I apologize! *puppy eyes* Anyway, I hope you will like this post. I’d love to know your thoughts on this 😉 Big hug!

Knipsel

Find your perfect collectible book and more on Invaluable’s site!

Leave a Reply

